Nakuru Hospice was born following Elizabeth Ndungu’s painful experience through the suffering of her dad who had prostate cancer between 2003 and 2006. She managed to mobilize various stakeholders in Nakuru County including Ministry of Health as a result Nakuru Hospice establishment was approved and allocated a building at Nakuru Rift Valley Provincial General Hospital (PGH) in March 2008. Nakuru Hospice started operation in June 2009 in a two roomed office at the Casualty Department after signing a Memorandum of Understanding to be reviewed after 20 years.


The Nakuru Hospice building was renovated with support from Safaricom Foundation which was completed in 2011 and in which operation started immediately. The Lions Club donated all the furniture and Hospice Care Kenya donated funds to buy the medical equipment. The Technical Support from Kenya Hospices and Palliative Care Association (KEHPCA) enhanced capacity and skills for staff, Directors and stakeholders on how to run a Hospice and implement and maintain palliative Care Standards.


Since then, Nakuru Hospice has registered many patients facing life threatening illnesses and their families for palliative care.

We appreciate our Partners either Corporate, Groups, Schools or individuals, who have supported us so much to date without them we would not be where we are. May God bless you all.

  1. Advisory Board of Directors

The Directors of Nakuru Hospice are drawn from the list of stakeholders who have been supporting Nakuru Hospice.

  1. Timothy Olweny - Chairman –  Representing Private Health Practitioners
  2. PGH Med. Sup          - Vice Chair  - Represents Ministry of Health ( Nakuru Rift Valley PGH)
  3. Abbas Parkar   - Treasurer  - Business Man Represents Muslim Association
  4. Ms Elizabeth Ndungu - Hon Secretary her painful experience gave birth to the idea
  5. John Wachira                   - Member
  6. Benjamin Ombito - Member
  7. Shailes Sheth -              Member  - Represents Lion Club of Nakuru
  8. Victor Achoka –            Member- Represents Pharmacists
  9. Stella Karanja -              Member - Business Lady
  10. Kiburi Kamonjo - Member  and Lawyer
  11. Hellen Mburu -              Member – Registered Community Nurse

We recognize the Late J.S. Shah who was our Treasurer from June 2009 to October 2012.


  1. Staff:
    1. Pamela Owame
    2. Naomi Kenagwa
    3. Calvin Nyabuto Manani
    4. Amos Njuguna
    5. Gidraph Waithaka Gachiri


  1. What we do? – We implement Palliative Care Programme



Palliative Care is defined by World Health Organization (WHO),(2002) as an approach that improves the quality of life of patients and their families facing problems associated with life threatening illnesses through the prevention and relief of suffering, the early identification o and impeccable assessment and treatment of pain and other problems ; Psychological, and spiritual.


Palliative Care involves

  • Pain Management
  • Symptoms Control
  • Home Based Care
  • Psychosocial Support ( counseling and Spiritual Care)
  • Day care ( Group Therapy)
  • Bereavement Programme
  • Education and Training in Palliative Care
  • Create Awareness on Palliative Care
  • Research , Advocacy and LobbyingOur True Stories

Events – Annual Events held every year

  1. 2nd Saturday in May  – Annual Charity Walk
  2. 2nd Saturday in October   - World Hospice & Palliative Care Day
  3. 1st Saturday in November   – Charity Golf Tournament

 Support us - Donate to Nakuru Hospice: Lipa na  Mpesa - Paybill 365150 or Till no. 338114

Or write a cheque to Nakuru Hospice

Be a Friend of Nakuru Hospice by subscribing what you can afford either

monthly, quarterly , semi annually or annually  to Nakuru Hospice as follows:

Amount in Ksh

  1. Corporate                                 -  50, 000 and above
  2. Life member                            - 100,000
  3. Professional bodies                - 10,000 and above
  4. Business Y& professionals    -  5,000  and above
  5. Youth / Students                    -  500 or more


Our Staff Members

Pamela Owame

Naomi Kinagwa

Calvin Manani

Amos Njuguna

Gidraph Waithaka